1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rookie Multi-Effects Pedal Question

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Slackerprince, Sep 23, 2008.

1. So, I am fairly new to bass, but already on my second bass and second amp, one big fatty and one portable. My basses are a Fender P, and a Cort B4 active. My amps are an Acoustic B200, and currently returning/shopping-buying another portable (a different thread).
    I wanted a pedal effect and drum machine for practicing and goofing around with different sounds, and got the DigiTech BP200. My main issue is with the drum machine. It has 30 patterns, but only 1 Blues, and 1 Jazz, while it has 3 or 4 Dance and 3 or 4 Pop. I like to play all kinds of stuff, but would have preferred more Blues and Jazz.
    So, I started looking at Guitar-based pedals and noticed a better selection.
    Here are the questions:
    1) As far as effects go, can you use Guitar and/or Bass pedals interchangeably?
    2) Are effects, just effects, whether you use them with Guitar or Bass?
    3) Should I get a Multi-effect pedal AND a seperate Drum Machine?
    For reference, I am mostly a hobby player, but getting better and jamming with people more, and may be playing some gigs, eventually.
    Also, I'm kind of Tech-challenged, so tons of features actually work against a guy like me.
    I just want something to fool around with and have fun making sounds, and have a drum machine for working tempo.
    Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

Slackerprince

2. ihateusernames

ihateusernames

Jun 26, 2006
    1) usually
    2) usually
    3) not really sure of what you're trying to accomplish but generally stand alone drum machines are far superior to the preprogrammed tracks included on multi-effects. a bit of learning and programming is required but it's pretty straight forward.