1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

rootnotes?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bayonet, May 11, 2011.

1. Bayonet

Bayonet

May 10, 2011
    I am a newbie at bass... i bought mine just a week ago and 3 days ago i joined a "band"(not really a band.. we don't have vocals yet) and the drummer sugested i should stick to the rootnotes while i learn,but he couldnt explain me what that meant and how should i do it,so,can any of you tell me what that means and how should i do it? :help:

2. jabsys

jabsys

Mar 30, 2011
    UK
  3. Bayonet

Bayonet

May 10, 2011
    wow.. that surely helped a lot.. but how am i supposed to know wich notes to play? i must ask the guitarist what he is playing?
    btw,can i play covers but instead of playing the original basslines play only the rootnotes or it will sound very bad?

4. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

You will realize that many, many basslines consist of nothing but root notes.

5. 1. You have to know the chords to the song. Ask the guitarist and, if you need to, make and use a chart (although for most rock songs a chart shouldn't be necessary for long).

2. It depends whether the bass player in the original played mostly the root notes or not. It might work for "Powderfinger" but not "All My Lovin'."

6. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Depends on what you're playing. If it's covers, you can usually get chord charts from the internet. If it's saying the chord is an E minor, your root note is E, etc. If it's originals, then you'll have to ask the writer what the chord progression is. Or if it's just jamming, listen and figure it out by ear.

Depends on the song. Some songs, all the bass line IS will be root notes. YouTube - U2 - With or Without you - lyrics