Roots of Impedence

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by KingOfAmps, Apr 30, 2003.

1. Which components in a speaker give it its impedence?

Or, what is actually done to a speaker to increase or decrease its impedence?

Just curious.

2. marc40a

Mar 20, 2002
    Boston MA
    I don't know, man but I think the title of your thread should be the name of a band.

3. Zon Bass

Zon Bass

Jan 20, 2002
    Dallas, TX
    I am by no means an expert on electronics, but I would have to say that the thing that has the biggest effect on a speaker's impedance is the length and size of the voice coil.
  4. Phat Ham

Phat Ham

Feb 13, 2000
    There's a good chance I'm wrong about all of this, but here it goes:

The resistive part of a speaker's impedance comes from the resistance of the metal used in the windings, just like any old piece of metal. Specifically R= (length * resistivity) / area. Resistivity is an intrinsic characteristic of the material used. So if the length of wire used to make the coil is increased, so will resistance. If a thicker wire is used (i.e. lower guage) then the resistance will decrease.

Since the wire is wrapped into a coil it acts as an inductor, adding an inductive element to the impedance. There's also a capacitive element, but I'm not sure where that comes from. Maybe from the voltage created between each turn of the coil? The inductance and capacitance combine to give you the reactance, and the impedance Z is given by Z = R + jX. j = square root of -1. The reactance is dependent on frequency, which is why the value for speaker impedance that we usually deal with is called "nominal" impedance. In actuality the impedance varies greatly with frequency.
  5. Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Hey Phat, from reading your post, I've managed to confuse myself. The words impedance and resistance are often used interchangably, but I'm starting to think resistance and impedance are 2 different things???