1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rosewood Fingerboard Conditioning and Cleaning. Help!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by JohnPatton18, Nov 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. JohnPatton18

JohnPatton18

Nov 15, 2018
    So I'm fairly new to the whole conditioning and cleaning thing. I just got a nice used bass that is very gorgeous, but the fingerboard looks kinda nasty, and not in a good way. I know its a rosewood fingerboard, are there any suggestions on how to clean and condition it?

Thanks
    -John

2. Lesfunk

Lesfunk Supporting Member

Clean with some lighter fluid and paper towels.
    Condition with a small amt of linseed oil.
    Wipe it off till you can’t get any more off.
    Should be good for a long time

3. briandavismurph

briandavismurph Supporting Member

Jul 1, 2013
    Chicago
    agree 100%

4. Turnaround

Turnaround Commercial User

May 6, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Independent Instrument Technician, and Contractor to Club Bass and Guitar - Toronto
    I suggest you do a search on TalkBass. This topic has been covered many many times. Even more than that.

5. Lesfunk

Lesfunk Supporting Member

Do you disagree with the advice given?

6. Turnaround

Turnaround Commercial User

May 6, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Independent Instrument Technician, and Contractor to Club Bass and Guitar - Toronto
    There are dirts that will clean with lighter fluid, and some that won’t. I suggest some dish detergent in water as a first step - don’t soak the ‘board, just a bit on a rag. Finishing up with a wee bit of linseed is a good idea.

202dy and Zooberwerx like this.
  7. Gilmourisgod

Gilmourisgod

Jun 23, 2014
    Cape Cod MA