Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

roth fiberglass = total lost cause?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by sparklydevil, Nov 10, 2002.

1. sparklydevil

sparklydevil Guest

Dec 17, 2001
    Detroit, MI
    hi all,

i'm a lurker, first time post.

so, i'm attempting to tackle the upright. i've been taking lessons for a little over a year, but have been unsuccessful in my search for a bass of my own.

i've just come across a roth fiberglass for cheap cheap. i did some research on fiberglass basses, and with a few exeptions, found nothing but horrible reviews of the tone & sound quality.

i've played this roth, and i actually think it sounds pretty decent. not fabulous, but certainly not a total wash. i'm no upright expert of course, but i brought along my experienced upright bass playing friend, and he agreed. it also comes from a very good luthier, who can do magic with crappy basses.

thing is, i'm a rockabilly slap player, and the fingerboard on this sucker is fiberglass as well, so, when i slap the steel strings against the fingerboard, i get an exceptionally loud and rather unpleasant clack. i'm used to slapping pretty hard for the bass i play during lessons, so i tried going easier on the slapping, but it's still dang loud.

i have a couple of options; i asked the guy to replace the strings with gut or nylon, which may reduce the clack. i also found a wooden fingerboard on ebay, and could replace the fiberglass one.