Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Roth Fiberglass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by PhatBasstard, Aug 29, 2002.

1. PhatBasstard

PhatBasstard Spector Dissector Supporting Member

Feb 3, 2002
    Las Vegas, NV.
    Hi guys,
    I was in the local vintage guitar/bass shop and they had a "Roth Fiberglass" DB. Now, I'm no DB expert but to my surprise, even with old, crappy strings (the G is starting to unwind) this bass seemed to have a better (and louder) tone than any of the much more expensive uprights I've tried at the two other local shops (that carry DBs). They are asking $850 for this bass.

Anybody know anything about these they'd like to share?

Thanks

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    Maybe Lex could develop on the necessary compromise on wood thickness: thick wood will give a sturdy instrument with dead tone, while thin wood would give a brighter and louder sounding instrument which will break into pieces in a couple of years. Plywood and composite materials such as resin-imbedded glass/carbon fiber offer interesting alternatives, but it’s going to take time for our luthiers to learn how to use these materials to make sweet-sounding basses. Arnold S is giving it a crack with plywood, and it’s great.

Back on track: I don’t know about Roth, but here in France we have those Cosy carbon fiber instruments, and they are loud and may arguably sound better than your average plywood bass. That’s all. List price is about 3k, but I suspect they sell for much less, main clients being music schools, for 3/4 and fractional instruments. Main qualities are that they are light and sturdy, and don’t sound too bad. When cheap labor and cheap wood supply will be exhausted, that’s what we will be left with…

But are you sure the tone is that good ?

3. Bruce Lindfield