Rotosound Strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by iceblinko, Feb 28, 2004.

1. iceblinko

Jul 15, 2003
    Call me a moron, but I've been playing for 13 years and I just heard of these strings now! A new friend was just raving about them recently. He's suprised that I have never tried them on my P bass. I was wondering, do any of you use them? What are some opinions?.. thanks all!

2. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Yeah. They are pretty smooth sounding. If your bass is set up right, you can get that piano like sound from them. I like a little more growl than they offer.
  3. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I use the Billy Sheehan set on my P-bass...110 for the E and 43 for the G for nice balance, and works well with drop tunings. They're punchy, and bright...but hell on fingers.
  4. A couple days after I just couldn't live with those nickel Ernie Ball Super Slinky 5s (and their tension (or lack thereof), which is only a couple notches above a shoestring), I went back to the music store and got me some Swing Bass 66s for my Stingray 5. I am a happy (or even slap-happy) man again. The sound, the tension, the TONE. Yes! Yes! Yes!

To the person who said they're rough on the hands, try a lighter gauge and break em in. Eventually they feel like they're at one with the bass.

From now on, I'll play nothing but Rotosounds.
  5. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Oh, no, I'm not complaining. Good bass strings hurt :) Besides, with all the bending I do, I feel worse for my frets than my fingers lol. They're tough, but they sound and feel great!
  6. What is this piano sound you guys speak of? I also play piano, but I don't quite get it. Piano strings are hit with felted wooden hammers - different from the way bass strings are plucked. But please do explain. I personally want my bass to sound like a bass and not a piano :)

Gotta love those Rotos, though...Those Brits make great strings. :)
  7. Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI