1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rounds for Stingray fingerstyle (now w/ clip)

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by resol, Dec 28, 2006.

1. resol

resol Guest

Feb 21, 2005
    have been using TI Jazz Flats for a year followed by about 2 months of TI Jazz Rounds. TI flast were great, but missed the rounds bite. the Jazz Rounds have nice tone, but i'm hating their low tension. i'm now thinking about going back to REAL rounds - tossing up between DR Lo-riders and Hi-Beams (probably the SS versions), Black Beauties or Elixirs, or anything else that suits fingerstyle on stingrays. i've never used theses sets before.

from doing some research it appears that the SS DR's are great on stingrays, but i'm not sure if that's for fingerstyle or slap...

i sweat a lot so coated would be nice. oh yeah - and i play praise+worship and pop rock covers.

what do you guys think?

2. LoveThatBass

LoveThatBass

Jun 28, 2004
    I like High Beams on my Fender 51P bass Reissue.
    Rounds will produce alot of growl from the Sting Ray so if you want to reduce the growl then suggest Low Riders maybe.

3. bobalu

bobalu Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2004
    above the 49th
    Do you not like the EB Slinkys? I tried a few different types of strings on my Stingray and came back to the Slinkys.

4. ibz

ibz

Apr 14, 2005
    Columbus, OH
    I've had good luck with DR Sunbeams if you're looking for some more nickel sounding strings for you MM tone.

5. Ampeg SVT

Ampeg SVT Son, I am disappoint.

they make the bass growl too

6. Ben Clarke

Ben Clarke Liquidating to fund a new business. Buy My Gear!

Jan 6, 2005
    Western NY
    I use DR Fat Beams (marcus Miller signatures) on my Ray5. A small change in right hand technique is all it takes to ditch that growl if it's not called for.