1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Router Recomendation

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by RobertPaulson, Apr 15, 2009.

1. RobertPaulson

RobertPaulson

Dec 11, 2008
    Des Moines
    I'm going to be doing some routing work on a bass I just got and I need to purchase a router. I've read a lot of people use laminate trimmers as well so that's not off the table. I'm looking for any recommendations that people have for a quality router - I'm not looking to break the bank, I'm a hobbyist at most. I'd like something that works well with a router table as well.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. I have a Craftsman (Sears) I purchased at a pawn shop for $20. Works fine but bits are very expensive.

3. bimmer

bimmer

Nov 14, 2005
    Are you looking for a 1/2" machine or a baby one? Most small routers run out of grunt on hard timbers/ deep cuts and end up being forced - dangerous for you and bad for your finish. See if you can't pick up a Makita 3612 reasonable from ebay - I use mine every day more or less and it is a great piece of kit, works well in a table if you zip tie the dead man's switch. Can't honestly bring myself to recommend a real cheapie, but you might want to look at the 1/2" Ryobi as a fairly decent mid ranger. They seem pretty good as far as run out and power go, but the build is a bit on the light side. Try not to skimp on cutters either. I'd rather have a few quality ones than one of those big starter set boxes.

4. rdcalab

rdcalab

Jan 10, 2005
    San Diego
    not sure if they still do but rockler had a porter-cable for $99 after rebate. can't beat that.

5. XylemBassGuitar

XylemBassGuitar Supporting Member Commercial User

Aug 14, 2008
    Durango, CO
    Owner and Operator, Xylem Handmade Basses and Guitars
    I use the DeWalt DW621.