Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

routing and filling

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by ariwax, Jan 11, 2006.

1. ariwax

ariwax Insonating the acoustic window Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    hi,

i am new to the world of modding, but i have an ambition to rerout a fenderesque P/J homemade 4-string to accommodate dual dark stars. i understand that there will be a great deal of filling in the old routs in addition to digging out new ones. the main question is, is this project feasible? if so, what would you fill in the old routs with?

best,
    ariwax

2. Depends on wheter you have a scratchplate or not. If you have, it'll cover a multitude of sins!! If you want to fill the olf holes then blocks of the heaviest wood you can find.....

3. ariwax

Apr 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    I can certainly throw a pickguard on there. However, that won't cover the sins committed near the bridge. Should I just carve a piece of wood to the shape of the J pup, glue it in there, and then be forced to finish the bass in opaque paint? Also, why must the wood be as heavy as possible? (The body was made from a 100-year old piece of swamp ash.)

4. nateo

nateo Schubie Fan #1

Mar 2, 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Ideally you'd want to fill the routes with exactly the same wood as the rest of the body. That way any expansion/contraction due to temperature or moisture would behave the same in both the body and the plug, minimizing the effects (usually just a bit of finish damage, though plugs can work themselves loose in extreme situations). I'd say you should look for a piece from the same species that's about the same density, then be sure to cut your plug so the grain has the same orientation as the rest of the body. From there it's just a matter of gluing it in, filling any holes, and sanding 'er out.