Rude Music Store Salesman

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by andrewd, Jun 3, 2005.

1. andrewd

Sep 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I was in New York City on Wednesday to see "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" with school. While we were walking around waiting for the show to start, we found a store that had a Ritter sign in the window. After I figured out that the bass section was on the third story, I had to find an employee to unlock it. After he gathered his lunch together, he unlocked it and ignored me until I asked if I could play the Ritter 6-string hanging up (I only asked because it had a sign that said "Please Ask for Assistance." The response: "No, that's a $5,300 Ritter. If you just wanna jam out.... if you're actually interested in something that's another story."

I'm not sure if I should say which store it was, but man was that guy a tool! I figured mentioning that ive been playing bass for 5 years and that im going to berklee college of music in the fall wouldnt have changed his mind.
  2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    So, I gain from your story that you're a high school aged kid. You didn't answer the question. Were you in a position to buy the bass, or did you just want to play it in the store? With ultra-expensive gear, you'll find that most stores will steer kids and teens away from the high-end stuff simply because they aren't in a position to buy such a delicate and expensive piece.

That's what Guitar Center is for. The kids bang on the instruments, and the instruments show it . . .

I don't think the salesguy what questioning your playing ability, just your ability to pay. Making money is, however, of paramount importance.