Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rules For Chord Solos/melodies

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by contraman, Nov 9, 2003.

1. I would like to know the ground rules for writing the right harmonic notes over a melody. My objective is to learn the ground rules and teach myself how to do it with any melody. I'm just beginning to tinker on a keyboard just playing chords. I have a couple of real books so I have no shortage of material. Just as an example "But not for me" is interesting at first glance as an example as the book also has a Coltrane version(his choice of harmony fascinates me). :D

2. By this, do you mean "What chords to play under a melody", or "How to harmonize a melody with a second voice, given a set of chord changes"?

Your term "harmonic notes" is ambiguous. In any case, this is a very large can of worms!

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Marke Levine's "Jazz Theory Book" has some chapters on Coltrane's ideas on harmony and how to harmonise tunes according to "Coltrane Changes".

I would suggest buying that and working through it - the chapters cover what you need to know and work up from simplest concepts to more complex ones with examples you can play.

It's a life-long study though - and not something you can cover in a few lines in a post here!

4. Thankyou for the suggestion. I am picking an ordered copy of Levine's jazz theory from the local music shop today. I'm excited :D. I Can't wait to begin this leg of my musical journey!

5. How to harmonise a melody with 2 or more voicings with chord changes.

7. What are you talking about Howard ?

8. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    Are you having imaginary conversations with me again Paul?

;)