1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Running a 2nd cab with a Mesa Boogie Walkabout Scout

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by alfaBAT9, Apr 13, 2009.

1. alfaBAT9

alfaBAT9

Apr 12, 2009
    Toronto, ON
    So I've been using this 12" combo amp for the past 2 years and it's been amazing so far... amazing tone, lightweight, no problems. I'm finally thinking about adding an extension cab of some kind, possibly a single 12" or 15", but I'm unsure of the whole impedance thing. Unless otherwise requested, all the Walkabout Scouts that leave the Mesa factory are 4ohms, allowing you to get the full 300w of power from the detachable head, so I'm assuming I have the 4 ohm version (I bought mine used, and I didn't think to ask the guy I bought it from at the time). So if I did get another cab, what impedance should it be assuming mine is already 4ohms? I'm kind of a noob with this whole ohms thing, but I know that if I add another 4 ohm cab the total impedance will be 2ohms, but if I add an 8ohm cab the total impedance will be 2.67ohms. Should I play it safe and go with the 8ohms?

2. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    There have been a couple very long threads recently where this has been discussed at length. Many Walkabout owners have safely run their amps at 2.67 and 2 ohms. At 2 ohms it'll put out about 500 watts. Mesa doesn't recommend it but admits it can be done if you don't really crank the amp wide open for hours at a time. I've run mine without trouble into lower impedances. The amp didn't seem to get unreasonably hot. I don't notice any difference between 2.67 ohms and 2 ohms. There's also no degradation in sound quality. As far as extension cabinets go, many I've tried work very well. But there's nothing better than the matching Scout extension.