1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

running my bass through an Orange tube head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by nickavellij, Aug 7, 2012.

1. nickavellij

nickavellij

Aug 7, 2012
    Hey all, i'm relatively new to playing bass, and i've decided to get a better head.

right now, i'm playing out of a Hartke HA5500, which i really don't like, but i got for a decent price. i just can't get the tone that i want out of it. it's 500 watts.

recently, i checked out this orange or120 Overdrive guitar head, and i LOVE the tone out of it through my cab, with my bass. but coming from a 500w bass head to a 120w guitar head kind of worries me.

i read about the difference in tube and solid state and such, but i wanted to know what some of your opinions are on this. would that orange tube head be able to compete with a full band around me? should i just go with a new solid state head?

help please! thanks!

2. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

120W all tube amp is crazy loud for guitar but only "pretty loud" for bass.

I use a '70's 100W Hiwatt with a 4x10 cab pretty often at gigs and it cuts very well.

Unless you have 2 very loud guitarists and a loud drummer, you should be good with most small/medium rooms without PA support.

3. CnB77

CnB77

Jan 7, 2011
    NJ
    With an efficient cab you should have no trouble. It's not the watts, it's how you use em

4. nickavellij

nickavellij

Aug 7, 2012
    yeah, right now i'm playing out of the matching Hartke 410xl, but i eventually want to upgrade that when i have money.

5. nickavellij

nickavellij

Aug 7, 2012
    regarding this, which would be the best cab to get the most out of it? 810?

thank you both for your replies.

6. jbrew73

jbrew73

Dec 24, 2006