Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rut Busting

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by CrypticScott, May 30, 2003.

1. CrypticScott

CrypticScott Guest

May 30, 2003
    NW Indiana/Chicago
    I'm a new member here. I've been playing for 17 years ,and I've kind of hit a wall as far as progressing goes. Wondering if anyone has and advice for getting myself back to the point where I'm learning again. It's frustrating as h**l.

Thanks!

2. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I'm there too man, but I'm only at the 3 year and some months point... here's what I think is gonna help me. I'm hopefully going to be starting a band, if we never gig or whatever that would be OK by me. What I need is the chance to jam/perhaps write some songs.

Also a helper for me is exploring other genres. Primarily a rock guy? Try some jazz. Country guy? Give metal a shot. I'm in a bar band with my uncle and because of this I've learned some songs I would have never thought of learning. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Delbert McClinton, Blues Brothers, Aerosmith, etc. I mean, I'd listen to these bands, but never think of learning their basslines... well some Tom Hamilton lines I learned a year or two ago. I hope this helps.

3. Coypu

Coypu Banned

Feb 24, 2003
    Sweden
    Get some new influences, play some Schoenberg, Gorguts or Allan Holdsworth stuff or whatever that gets you to learn something new.

4. CrypticScott

CrypticScott Guest

May 30, 2003
    NW Indiana/Chicago
    That's what Ive been trying to do lately. In the past I've been really into alot of two handed and soloing type of stuff. So the past few weeks I've tried immersing myself in things like motown and punk...hell of a combination huh?

5. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    From Zen Guitar: