1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Sad day tomorrow. Time to say goodbye to a founding member =(

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tpmiller08, Apr 23, 2009.

1. tpmiller08

tpmiller08

Mar 15, 2009
    Boston, MA
    Hey TB'ers,

About a month ago, I posted a thread about a drummer who was too busy showboating then to keep time. I'm in an originals band, and we have exactly the sound I started playing bass for.

I took advice from everyone on here. Worked with him on a metronome, told him exactly how I felt, and what I felt he was doing wrong. Then went on to actually teach him music theory as its applied. It was only a temporary solution. Every talk put him in place for a few practices, tops.

Also, the more he learns, the more he uses it to fudge up our songs. I taught him syncopation, he used it to add a fill to every measure, if not BAR.

He's affecting other members in the band, and holding us back. He's a great kid, but we've made the decsion as a band to kick him out :(

Everyone in the band is going to be there. But being the straightforward, honest person I am....I'm going to lead the conversation. That wasn't decided, its just the way the band fits.

I'm not really asking advice. Just needed to vent about it, I guess. This band is all the kid has, and we're taking it from him. You need to know where to draw the line between being a musician thats in it for the music, and fun of it, and being friends. We have a replacement (one of the drummers good friends unfortunatly), and I guess this is just the world we live in.

Wish me luck. This is going to be one of the few things in this life I get emotional over.

-Troy

2. Good luck!!! Hopefully it all works out well for everyone...