1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sad Reminiscing on NAD

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by akrachanko, Oct 8, 2018.

1. akrachanko

akrachanko Supporting Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Western Pennsylvania
    I can't help but from time to time, think back to equipment I was presented with when I started playing the bass, and some of the equipment I've come across that I never understood the value of until I joined Talkbass and started learning.

So now, for story time, and I'll try to keep it short, and we'll get to NAD. When I was in 11th grade, I'd been playing the bass for about 5 or 6 years, and I found an old stash of equipment in one of our band-rooms at school. While digging, I found the usual junk you'd expect to find, like a plastic upright bass, which I didn't even know was a thing. Then I found something I am just now starting to understand. I found in the back, up against a wall, 2 bass speaker cabinets with wheel dollies. Thinking they looked kind of cool, I pulled them out. They both said Ampeg on the front, and I'd heard of Ampeg before, so that was cool. That's when I noticed the latches on the top sides of the cabinet. I unlatched them and lifted the panel to find there was an amplifier that literally flipped out of the cabinet! At the time, I had no idea I had found 2 Ampeg B15-N Amps from the early 70s. I am only guessing at this being the exact B15 model, but this is the closest picture to the way it looked: https://img.audiofanzine.com/images/u/product/normal/ampeg-b15n-portaflex-80825.jpg