1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Sadowsky metro vs. NYC?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jzucker, May 15, 2006.

1. jzucker

jzucker

Feb 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    Just wanted some comments...

2. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL The Beagle Father Staff Member Supporting Member

Their Different.

3. search

4. kobass

kobass Supporting Member

Nov 3, 2003
    Outside Boston
    I can only speak about the Metros, as I have not had the opportunity to play an NYC instrument. I've had my Metro RV4 since mid-March. It's an amazing bass. I've been playing bass since 1973, and I've owned several basses over the years. The quality/attention to detail, the playability, and the tone all exceeded my expectations. I have nothing but the highest regard for Sadowsky instruments and I think you'll find that most people who own them would agree with me.

5. thewanderer24

thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA

I own 2 NYC's, and have never played a metro. Other than that I can pretty much echo your sentiments.

The standard line from the Sadowsky shop is that if you can get the features you want on the Metro line, then you don't need the NYC. The NYC is for more custom options like quilted tops, "special" fingerboards, fretless, etc.

6. jokerjkny

jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PHL
    yea, this has been discussed lots.

while the metro's are terrific machines, and one of the best in their class, the NYC's are on yet another playing level. fit, finish, balance, weight, machining, all hit pitch perfect notes. no other fefner style bass comes close, IMHO.

7. jzucker

jzucker

Feb 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    What about Suhr?

8. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    Not only that but, they're different. :D

micgtr71 likes this.
  9. Andy Brown

Andy Brown Supporting Member Commercial User