1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Salem, Oregon area teachers?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by davidf, Feb 26, 2008.

1. davidf

davidf

Jun 26, 2006
    Corvallis, OR
    Hey all,
    Is anyone aware of any good teachers in the Salem, Oregon area. I am an electric bassist that is moving over to upright and want/need some significant guidance and instruction. I would like to take lessons from someone who is also into jazz (as opposed to strictly classical).

2. jlilley

jlilley

Aug 28, 2005
    Mill Creek, WA
    I you don't have any luck in Salem, David Friesen is in Portland. I studied with him for a couple of years and I can highly recommend him as a teacher.
    Good Luck,
    John

3. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    Phil Baker has solid classical training as well as being a great all around musician. He's in Portland. I drive 3 1/2 hours to study with him. Going from Salem seems like a trip around the block to me.

4. Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones Banned

Feb 28, 2001
    Northampton Mass
    Kevin Dietz in Portland is solid.

Aj

5. davidf

davidf

Jun 26, 2006
    Corvallis, OR
    Thanks,
    I know of David Friesen. Not sure he would take a student at my level though i.e. rank beginner on the upright.

6. davidf

davidf

Jun 26, 2006
    Corvallis, OR
    Does Phil take beginning students?

7. davidf

davidf

Jun 26, 2006
    Corvallis, OR
    Same question regarding Kevin Dietz and that is does he take students who are just starting to play double bass?

8. davidf

davidf

Jun 26, 2006
    Corvallis, OR
    I'm actually in Corvallis and was hoping not to have to drive to Portland. With a town the size of Salem, I figured there must be a couple of decent instructors but maybe not.