1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Sandberg Pbass vs Fender Pbass -Which one has the better sound?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aasti3000, Aug 1, 2012.

1. aasti3000

aasti3000

Jul 18, 2012
    So I'm testing out P basses because I would like one. I really like the Fender American Deluxe with the active/passive switch. But I was in a small music store and someone was testing a Sandberg California PM5 Pbass. That monster was vicious in my "ears" opinion. Since i'm still a newbie I'd like to hear from the experience players on which is, in your opinion, a better bass and why. Sandberg or Fender.

2. I had have both, and different models actually. And at the end Sandberg won for me.

I love fender basses. I try different models/years before getting in love with fender. I also tried different fenderish brands like Sadowsky (in may opinion they loos that aggressive sound that a Fender can deliver), Lakeland (never felt confortable with it), etc. They all are great instruments, probably some of them are better crafted than a Fender CustomShop. But at the end I always came back to my fender Jazz Custom shop and my 71 Pbass. I also tried new fenders, like the new deluxe J and P. I really get in love with those deluxe models, I still own them.

During a business trip I made a personal stop in a guitar shop (BTM Guitars - Nurenberg, Germany), incredible place by the way. I was checking out some fender custom shop models, I think they were a limited run only for euro market and the bass expert told me about this German brand call Sandberg. I try a California VM (P with a Humbucker) and found that punchy, growly, glory sound that I though I was getting with fender.