1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

sanding prior to clear?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by camardelle, May 27, 2012.

1. How much sanding do I do prior to applying the clear coat(s)? I'm using 600 grit sandpaper but it seems to scuff the paint pretty well. Will the scuffing show under the clear?

Total noob here with my first refurb. I'm having a ton of fun and once this is done, I may redo it again in a different color. LOL

2. Congratulations on starting your first guitar refurbishment project, Camardelle, and I am very glad that you are enjoying it!

If you are scuffing the paintwork with 600 grit sandpaper, it might simply be that you are pressing down a bit too hard. Are you wetting the sandpaper before using it?
    My advice to you would be to use what is known as "wet and dry" or "wet/dry" sandpaper, and to soak it for 15 minutes or so before use. The water helps to lubricate the sanding, and prevents loose pieces of grit from catching underneath your paper.

Have you visited the Reranch forum? It is a forum dedicated to the subject of finishing guitars, and there are a lot of very experienced members there who will be happy to help you out with anything. Here is a quick link to it for you - http://www.reranch.com/reranch/

And here is a link to page 2 of Reranch 101 (an short but fantastic tutorial in all aspects of guitar finishing - it is well worth reading through a few times!). Page 2 addresses the stage which you are currently at. http://www.reranch.com/101a.htm

I know exactly what you mean about wanting to start all over again as soon as you have finished - it is great fun, isn't it? :)
    Enjoy your new hobby!

3. Smilodon

Smilodon Supporting Member

Feb 18, 2012
    Norway
    Yeah, the color will look horrible after sanding, but the clear coat will fill the scratches and give a nice, smooth finish.