1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sanding sand and sealer

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Tedstor, Oct 26, 2009.

1. ReRanch says to apply two coats of SS before primer.
    Its says to apply one coat, allow to dry, then sand with #220 before applying the second coat.
    How do I clean the dust off in between coats?
    I'm using Deft Laquer SS if that matters.

FWIW I tried to find the answer at Reranch, but the site was not working for me this morning. Sorry if this is a dumb question. I'm a rookie and don't want to fubar my first project.

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can offer.

Ted

2. ProfGumby

ProfGumby

Jan 15, 2007
    Michigan's U.P.
    Get a tack rag, any paint or wood finishing store has them and most big box hardware centers have them in the paint section.

Also with 220, be very careful around sharp edges and any radius(rounded) areas, you will go right through to bare wood real easy.

I'd suggest practicing on a few scraps of wood. Practice applying the sealer and sanding between coats. Maybe stain the wood first so you can see where you rub through. The sealers job is to fill the porous areas of the wood to give you an even platform and equal paint/finish absorption.

With refinishing it is very important to keep your area clean. Especially after sanding. Sand the project, then remove it from the area, clean the table/bench then blow off the body in another area. Now tack rag it and make sure it is clean with a clean soft cloth or clean compressed air. Tack rag it again.

And always wash your hands or wear plastic or latex gloves to prevent contamination or body oil transfers to the project. And for God's sake, don't be eatin chicken while sanding!

3. praisegig

praisegig Supporting Member

Jul 7, 2008
    Stephenville, TX