Sanity Check: AER Amp One with GK MBP112 powered cab...maybe?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by neptune, Oct 20, 2017.

1. neptune

neptune

Feb 2, 2001
    Maryland
    There are a few smaller venues I play at regularly that don't warrant bringing my TH-500/CN112s, but call for for a little more 'beef' than my sole AER Amp One provides. I've been thinking about pairing the Amp One with a Gallien Krueger MBP112 powered cab for these situations.

The Amp One has a 1/4" sub output rated at 0dB. The dilemma: From what I've read the MBP112 appears to 'like' a +10dB input signal.

After a little research I discovered that Radial makes a box with a variable boost that can increase signals up to a max of 17dB. I'm not an engineer, but it seems that inserting it between the Amp One and the GK would be a reasonable and portable solution. Appreciate any thoughts as to the feasability of this setup, Thanks.

2. You seem to have the gain problem solved but still there is the same potential cab mixing can o worms as adding a different cab to a regular bass stack.

3. neptune

neptune

Feb 2, 2001
    Maryland
    Thanks for the comeback. Do you mean possible mismatch issues between a 10" driver and a 12" driver?

4. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.
    Owner/Designer &Toaster Tech Passinwind Electronics
    Bob Gallien very clearly recommends against it, so I wouldn't go there personally. It also needs a dedicated limiter to replace the one built into the G-K amps that are meant to drive the extension cabs, unless you don't mind it not working as the designer intended.

5. neptune

neptune

Feb 2, 2001
    Maryland
    Thanks PW, that clarifies things well. It's a shame GK has taken such a proprietary route with their powered cabs. On to plan B, whatever that may be.

lomo and Nev375 like this.
  6. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.