Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sansamp preamp problem:

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassminister, Apr 22, 2002.

1. hey guys, I'm new to TB and this is my first post. I have a Sansamp Bass Driver DI that I use with a MXR EQ and a QSC PLX-1602. I have 2 basses, Music Man 5 and a Pre-Gibson Tobias Classic 5. The problem is that the Music Man sounds awesome thru the Sansamp, but when I plug in the Tobias it sounds awful! I can't figure it out. I know the Tobias is an awesome bass, but is it possible that the Tobias and the Sansamp weren't a match made in heaven? I love this setup, but maybe I need to do something else. Please help if you have any thoughts or ideas.

Thanks,
    Aaron

2. geshel

geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Seattle
    Um, you're going to have to define "awful" if you want any help. Electronically, no reason why a Tobias wouldn't be compatible. . .

3. Sorry about that! I guess I wasn't that descriptive. What I meant was the Tobias just sounds totally muddy and doesn't have good tone at all. It actually has better cleaner tone and output to hit the bypass switch on the SABDDI! I really like the Sansamp but I can't understand why the MM5 sounds awesome and has great tone and output while the Tobias sounds like cardboard and almost no output. I know that there is nothing wrong with the Tobias b/c I just played it last week thru another rig and everything sounded as it should. I hope that I have detailed my problem a little better.

Thanks,
    Aaron

4. I've owned the sansamp pedal for 6 yrs and for
    the last 5 I could not figure out why the sound
    guy kept telling me I had a hiss in my sound which
    I could not hear because of my hearing loss and
    muso's ear plugs. I went back and read the manual
    properly and discovered that with active basses
    you have to set the EQ flat because the pedal is