1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Saved From The Burn Pile....The Chrysalis Project

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Koog, Aug 1, 2020.

1. Koog

Koog Supporting Member

Dec 27, 2010
    Central Iowa USA
    This narrative will be a bit long. It talks about an extensive bass restoration and may be worth the read to those interested in such things. Photos following the narrative and are worth a look.

Earlier in the year I had been looking for a five string bass I would not worry about taking to the stage in some of the dive blues bars and jam sessions I’ve been playing off and on for the past several years.

I’ve always had great luck in finding good value in used instruments here on TB and in April was successful in finding what I thought was a bass to fit the bill. It was represented to have been gigged but “it’s in great shape with a slight wear mark where a previous owner rested his thumb”, said the owner. Photos in favorable lighting supported this. There were no other disclosures. I had decided I would change out the tuners and electronics when the bass arrived….really minor stuff, made an offer considering the expense of the mods and it was accepted.

When the bass arrived it soon became obvious it had been misrepresented. I attempted, and was unsuccessful, in working out a partial refund for the bass. Because I liked the woods in the bass….a very old piece of Walnut for the body, and a very dark Ebony fingerboard….when the seller became difficult, I decided to walk away from dealing with him, move on, and do a full restoration of the bass.