1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Saving up for a new bass-- who makes it?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by calypsocoral302, May 20, 2011.

1. Hello all,

Just a little bit of background about myself, I've been playing the upright bass, on-and-off, since I was 9 years old (I recently turned 30). My weapon of choice for the past 16 years has been a pre-WWII plywood bass from some luthier in Canada (Mike Shank told me who it was, but I forget the name), that my parents bought for me when I was 14 years old, for $800. It's an old bass-- the section leader in the amateur symphony orchestra I play in (Hershey Symphony Orchestra) says he loves the sound.

But, I've been practicing more lately (something I didn't have the discipline to do when I was younger), and it's pretty clear that my primary interest in the double bass is Orchestral (I play bass guitar in blues, rock, and metal), and I think it's time to start looking into investing in a new instrument.

I realize there are some pretty big-sounding 3/4's out there, but I happen to be a big fellow (6'2", 300lbs), and can certainly handle a 7/8 or 4/4.

Here is what I think my "ideal" bass would be like:

1) All solid woods-- one of the two things I strongly-dislike about my current plywood bass is how it de-laminates over time.

2) 7/8 size, although I'm also open to large-ish 3/4's, as well.

3) Flat-back, Gamba shape. I prefer a flat back because I play sitting down, and use my left knee and thigh to support the weight of the instrument. I like the Gamba body shape because I like its elegant simplicity and lack of fragility in its appearance.