SBL Rant...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by MayaMorena, Jul 26, 2017.

Tags:
  1. I found this talkbass forum when I was brand new and having some huge struggles. You might all remember my great struggle to figure out how to hold the bass. I dealt with a really rude teacher who wanted me to play with my wrist all jacked up and it almost made me quit. But I hung in there, because I really love to play.

Some really great folks on here gave me some priceless advice, and I couldn't believe the overwhelming support. One of those pieces of advice was to check out Scott's bass lessons. So I did just that.

And I have to say, the video lessons were actually pretty good and I learned a lot from them. After the first two courses things went from beginner to intermediate, so I wasn't sure how to proceed from there, until ....

I found out they were having a Challenge where you got to study a piece of music and then transcribe it. And while I am still a novice I thought this would be fun since I have a pretty good ear for figuring out notes, but I could use some directed learning in actually transcribing. So I picked a pop song with a nice repetitive bass line that I thought wouldn't be too hard to learn.

I especially wanted to do well because I had been practicing with a cool young man on there who didn't even own a bass! The prize for the challenge was a bass guitar, so I figured maybe I could blow the Admin away and win this guy a bass so he wouldn't have to borrow it from his brother all the time. I know it was a long shot, but I had to try!

I put my all into that challenge. It took me well over 30 hours all in all. It was actually the first piece I ever played from beginning to end. I got pretty sick near the end so I didn't get as much practice time in as I wanted to, but I could play it pretty well, just not at 100% of the original tempo.