Scale Help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by UzzA, Sep 24, 2002.

1. UzzA

Mar 29, 2002
    Hey everyone,
    Can anyone help me incorporate scales into my basslines? I mean i know most of the scales (i usually just play them from the root up then down again) But how can i use this knowledge to help me write basslines? Currently i use appregios to come up with some basslines with my band but i think it limits me as a bassist. Sorry if this question is extremly stupid!

Any helps great,
  2. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    This is something i also would like to know, so i hope you dont mind if i subscribe ;)
  3. Now I'm no music expert, but when I make up a bassline, I usually use chord appreggios but throw in some stuff from others parts of the scale. In other words, I use just about any note in the scale, but the main focus of my line are the notes that make up the chord.
  4. TJC

Jun 28, 2002
    Los Angeles
    As I understand it, the 1,3,7 (and sometimes 5) of a scale define the type of chord that you are playing (major, minor, dominant, ...) while the other notes in that scale or mode can add color or 'seasoning' to that chord. Of course it's important that you are always listening to what is going on around you in deciding which color tones to throw in.
  5. UzzA

Mar 29, 2002
    Ok, now i understand you can use scales to spice up apregiated (sp?) basslines. But what if you dont have any chords to work with and you wanna come up with a line from scratch what do you? Do you just pick random notes from the scale and cross your fingers and hope it sounds good?
  6. StrudelBass

Jul 6, 2002
    Don't HOPE it sounds good. Make it so it sounds good and doesn't make your ears bleed 10 gallons of blood.
  7. UzzA

Mar 29, 2002