Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Scale/mode/chord theory question

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rjny36, Jan 31, 2006.

1. rjny36

rjny36

Jan 29, 2006
    Syracuse, NY
    Hi, everybody. I'm actually new to TalkBass (my second post!), but not new to the bass. I played for seven years, but not very much for the past two. Recently, I have picked it up, again, so I find myself re-learning a lot of material, and I have a question in regards to scale/mode/chord theory. It's a simple question, really, but I'm confusing myself trying to figure it out. Is there any way to know, by looking at a song's chart, what mode the composition is based on?

Naturally, you can plot out the chords in relation to the key, but I'm thinking about how to handle a situation where you're handed the chart to a song you've never heard of, and are expected to play it without taking a couple minutes to look it over and figure it out.

I know a lot of jazz compositions are based on the Dorian mode, and a lot of blues compositions are based on the Mixolydian, but how can you quickly know if it is or it isn't?

Do charts come with key signatures? Am I worried about nothing?

I'm moderately confused. :confused:

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Very few tunes are based on a particular mode - but even so, it's up to you how you intepret the chord changes, based on what you're hearing.

Notable exceptions are Miles Davis' "Kind of Blue" and "Modal Jazz". :)

3. rjny36

rjny36

Jan 29, 2006
    Syracuse, NY