Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Scale theory and playing. Does a lightbulb just come on or what?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by LoJoe, Dec 13, 2002.

1. LoJoe

LoJoe

Sep 5, 2002
    Concord, NC USA.
    After being "self taught" for about 6 months, I started lessons recently. In addition to working on my hand and fingering techniques, my instructor has been drilling scales into me. Major modes, minor modes, dominant modes, arpeggios, all those words ending in "ian". working all around the circle of 5ths etc... This has been less than exciting, but I've been dilligent and have not had any problems with it so far. I keep wondering how this will all tie in to my song playing and he keeps saying "Have patience Grasshopper, just keep practicing them." So...for the veterans out there, will a light bulb just go off one day where I'll think "Oh my gosh, this is what it's all about!!" Or will it just gradually happen over the coming months. In the band I'm in, we don't get notation. We just get a lyric sheet with the roots written above the words.

C........G....C
    Kind of like this....

He tells me that all this scale theory is going to really help me in making creative lines and riffs instead of just banging out C G C, and I think I'm starting to see that it will someday. Just having trouble with that patience part. Sigh...

2. LoJoe

LoJoe

Sep 5, 2002
    Concord, NC USA.