1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Scales and fingering for beginners

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by theboakster, Jul 22, 2008.

1. I'm a terrible procrastinator and even though I've been playing the bass for about 2 years now I hardly ever practice! I'm comfortable in half and first position and can do scales of one octave up and down in these positions. But I completely get lost when I have to find notes outside this!

I can't afford a teacher and am looking for someone to help me get out of this position and help me understand which fingers I should be using where and on what string!!! (I use 1, 2 and 4 fingering)

So, looking major scales from the E and A strings I can do E, F, G, A, Bb no problems. C is ok but moving up to top C I find a bit tricky to make sure I'm completely in tune.
    F#, B, C# I can't really do properly. And anything beginning from the D or G strings I'm stuck on.:meh:

Any help out there?!

Also, should I still be concentrating on one octave scales up and down until I get comfortable with these or should I try and do more?

2. ctcruiser

ctcruiser

Jan 16, 2005
    West Haven, CT
    I would get a copy of the Simandl book. It was very helpful for me getting started.

But, nothing replaces a teacher. Especially starting out.

3. Menacewarf

Menacewarf

Mar 9, 2007
    Oregon
    The book mainly offers a common language for you and the teacher(enzyme)

4. I knew those two pieces of advice would be what I'd get !!! Thanks, and I know you're totally right but a) I have a copy of Simandl (but it's a bit too hard at the moment for me by myself) and b) I can't currently afford a teacher and I'm pregnant so lugging bass anywhere is just not possible.

So.. anyone got any advice on fingering/scales?

5. endorka

endorka

Oct 15, 2004
    Glasgow, Scotland