Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Schecter Custom vs. Essex SJB-62QMD

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by xsogol, Feb 28, 2005.

1. Essex

50 vote(s)
    31.3%
  2. Dean

23 vote(s)
    14.4%
  3. Schecter

29 vote(s)
    18.1%
  4. Fender

58 vote(s)
    36.3%
  1. Hey Everyone,

I'm new to TB. I have a couple of questions that I'm hoping I can get some insight into:

1. I love the Schecter Stiletto and I really like the Stiletto Custom 4 in natural...I love that it is a bolt-on neck and that the neck is quick while the body is well-balanced. I keep hearing that if you like the Stiletto, you should buy the Studio version...what are the arguements for this?

2. How hard is it to modify the hardware on a Stilletto Custom (the elctronics (pickups, pre-amp), bridge, etc.)? Has anyone here done it?

3. I also like the look of jazz basses and I like the SX SJB-62...given that this is also a lot cheaper than the Stiletto, how does it compare in terms of features/playability? How fast is the neck on one of these? Are they easy to modify?

Thanks for any and all help and/or recommendations in advance!

~XsoGol :bassist:

2. Mud Flaps

Mud Flaps

Feb 3, 2003
    Norton, MA
    The neck on the Schecter is the fastest (this coming from a former Stiletto owner) but I didn't like it. The neck is pencil-thin, and made my left hand sore. Also, the EMG/neck-thru/exotic woods/soapbars thing really isn't my style, I like the tones you get from Stingrays and Jazz Basses better.

I really don't see why you'd want to modify one. I would just go for a more expensive bass. By the time you're done modifying it, the price difference between a Custom and the next thing up will probably be small.

A note about Dean: they're basses are absolutely awful. They're entire company is awful. Everything about them is awful.