Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

schecter diamond series elite 5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wushuguy, Jan 9, 2002.

1. wushuguy

wushuguy

Jan 9, 2002
    Flagstaff, AZ
    I just started playing bass, and chose this schecter as my first guitar. I did a search here to find out what people thought of it. It appears peoples opinions are split on this guitar. Many people thought that this guitar is a piece of junk, while many who own it say that it is an excellent guitar. I personally love it, which is all that matters to me. But I'm interested in finding out why the people who don't like guitar feel the way they do. What makes this such a bad guitar?

2. uglybassplayer

uglybassplayer

Aug 24, 2001
    New Jersey
    Hi wushuguy, Welcome to Talkbass.

I haven't had the opportunity to play the Diamond Series so I can't speak from first hand experience, but I do know the model you are talking about (The bass is quite a piece of "Eye Candy" with that quilted top and S-Tek bridge). I don't think the negative feedback is as much that it's a bad bass, I think it's more of there's better out there in the same general price range. You're talking roughly $500/$600 dollars right? Most manufacturers have to cut corners somewhere to produce a bass in this price range. If it's got an active EQ circut, that's probably the first area that was skimped on to save money. The pickups are probably EMG Hi-Zs, which are the budget line. Some like 'em, but most tend to sneer at them (probably because they're comparing them to "real" EMGs).