Schecter? or suggestions? :)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SpiralStatic, Nov 1, 2005.

1. Hey all.

i have been playing Bass for almost 2 years and have decided that it is time to move on to a 5 string.

i saw this very Bass at a shop (with a £70 disscount cause the owner knows my dad :p ) ... What do you think?

i will probably be spending £300-£450, and want a good 5 string Bass that will last a long time and that is good for slapping.

any suggestions will be very welcome :)

2. truckin88

Oct 18, 2001
    Newburgh, NY
    do a search there was a post with a lot of replys about 2 weeks ago
  3. dgce

Jun 17, 2001
    Massachusetts, USA
    I haven't tried that particular Schecter Stiletto model, but I've tried the neck-thru Studio and Elite models. Both were excellent but I lean more to the satin-y finish of the Studio. I believe the Custom (the model yr buying) is a bolt-on neck and clearly has a very snappy looking flamed maple top; otherwise is quite similar to the classy Studio. I think this is an excellent bass with plenty of bang for the buck. In fact, Schecters in general are excellent guitars/basses that are very VERY reasonably priced (especially if it’s a discontinued model).

Off hand the best bang-for-buck deals going right now (at least here in the States) is the G&L Tribute line and the mid-price ranged Diamond Series Schecters (even their low-end models are pretty good compared to Ibanez and Samick, et al). I don't know how the Koreans do it for so little money but I say get while the getting is good!

4. thats what i needed, thanks alot guys.

still, does anybody have suggestions of Basses in a similar price range?

thanks again :D
  5. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Wow, seeing Marty in the background is kinda cool!
  6. dgce

Jun 17, 2001
    Massachusetts, USA
    Well the G&L Tribute 2500,
    Ibanez SR 5005s and up (the SR 9005 is fantastic but its a bit pricey),
    Ibanez BTB 5s,