1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Schools with a BA/BS in Audio Engineering?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by JamesGoodall, Mar 24, 2013.

1. JamesGoodall

JamesGoodall

Aug 29, 2011
    Dallas
    I've been searching around on the web, but I also figured why not ask TB.

I'm currently studying Music Business with an emphasis in recording at Dallas Baptist University. I'm in my second semester, and I'm starting to realize that I am only being prepared to work in a church's audio dept. This is problematic to me in that I am neither Christian, nor do I have any desire to work in a church or be treated like a child until I'm ~24.

The question at hand is do any of you know of a (preferably public) university with a good degree in audio engineering? I know of a few ones that are pretty obvious: Belmont, Berklee, and Full Sail. I've already taken a few production courses online through Berklee and am holding that as a high choice. What are you guys' opinions/thoughts?

Edit: Mods, if this belongs somewhere else, my bad. I figured the recording forum would be the best place to ask, but i wasn't sure...

2. JamesGoodall

JamesGoodall

Aug 29, 2011
    Dallas
    Bump. No one?

3. stingray56funk

stingray56funk Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2005
    Atlanta