Schroeder 21012 vs Bergantino HT-322

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by spooner2112, Oct 6, 2005.

1. spooner2112

May 24, 2004
    Arlington, Va
    Talkbass newbie here.

I'm in the market for a "one cab solution" to go with my Ampeg SVT-3Pro head. From reading the various threads here, I've narrowed down to the Schroeder 21012 or the Bergie HT-322. (Also considered the Accugroove EW, but a bit too expensive.)

I play blues & rock in small to medium clubs, with an occasional outdoor gig. Cab size is a constraint, since I need to transport it in my hatchback with other PA gear.

The Schroeder is smaller and lighter, so I'm leaning towards that one. On the other hand, I've never heard one, and a friend of mine plays through an HT-322; I know it sounds awesome, and though it's bigger it's nevertheless sufficiently small to fit in my car.

Any comments/suggestion about the differences between these two cabs?

Thanks in advance.
  2. no help here, just a friendly reminder that this should be in the "Amps" forum. It should be moved by a mod shortly :).

Have a great day!
  3. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
    Yep. One comment. A big one. Huge, even.

Both good cabs, but the Schroeder is a LOT more efficient. And that's going to be important, necessary even, to get significant volume from a 3Pro into a single cab.

I run a 3Pro into a 21012 myself. You won't be disappointed.

Welcome to TB.
  4. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    Even though I own only the 1212 I vote Schroeder too. I played a gig one night where the other band had a mid sized Berg cab, and my 1212, which is a smaller box blew it away. The 21012 is reported to be silly loud and have more low than the 1212.
  5. spooner2112

May 24, 2004
    Arlington, Va
    Oops, sorry about posting to the wrong forum. Thanks for all the helpful comments so far!
  6. tombowlus