Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

schroeder bass response

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CrackBass, Sep 29, 2004.

1. CrackBass

CrackBass

Aug 10, 2004
    huntsville,AL
    well look what came in the mail today, my brand new schroeder 21012 cab. (thanks jorg, it was packed securely and arrived in perfect shape)
    the first thing i did was plug in my old cab, a peavey 412 tvx. then i hooked up the schroeder. wow the midrange clarity that i was looking for is all there. the cab looked tiny next to the 412 but it was actually just a touch louder. the only thing was i had to adjust my ears for a minute because i was used to hearing the exaggerated bass/highs of my old cab. it was kind of weird for a minute because those extra mids make the bass response less apparent. then i started playing in several positions and all the strings and noticed that every note was virtually the same volume as opposed to an exaggerated top and bottom. as i got used to the sound it really grew on me. i know that the schroeder is not a "flat" cab( it seems to have a lower midrange emphasis) but it is flatter than anything i've heard or played through. i've had a lot of experience with ampeg, swr, peavey,boogie, and eden. you know, most of the brands available in most semi big cities(huntsville,al), but i've never had the chance to hear most of the "boutique" brands.(EA, accugroove,epifani,bergs,...etc.)
    i've been looking for a more midrangy sound without sacrificing all the low end, and i've found it. i can't wait to get this puppy up on stage so i can really see what it can do. i'm also going to have to work on my technique because the clarity is amazing. absolutely no mud, tight bottom,smooth mids and high end that sounds like its coming from a small speaker instead of a tweeter.

2. I'm glad it finally arrived, Tom. :)