1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Scientific "truths" that changed while you were in school?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by fenderhutz, Sep 12, 2008.

1. fenderhutz

fenderhutz Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2007
    Harpers Ferry WV
    I am just curious since we have such a variety of members here on TalkBass what scientific "truths" changed by the time you were in kindergarten until the time you graduated high school or college.

I graduated in 1995 and started school in 1982. I will post some in a bit.

What scientific principles changed in the roughly 13-17 years you were in the school system from kindergarten to high school/college?

You first.:D

2. One word: Pluto.

:scowl:

3. Joe Gress

Joe Gress

Dec 22, 2005
    Pueblo, CO
    Pluto got shafted.

4. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    +1

5. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    My high school physics book said that they couldn't make blue LED's. Then they did soon after.

6. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    Yeah, but that was just a question of classification.

7. What about the sheep cloning? I know so little about it that I'm not sure if it actually happened.

8. One thing to keep in mind here is that there really are no "scientific truths", just science's best grasp of the facts as they are able to discern them now. Science has no real interest in "truth", just in fact.

9. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    I learned that brain cells don't regenerate, but later research puts this in question. Good. In science, nothing is unchangeable in the face of evidence.

10. Masher88

Masher88 Believe in absurdities and you commit atrocities

May 7, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    So why not do some research on good ol' Dolly? You have a good tool for learning things right at your fingertips!

11. Dolly!!! I thought that was the name. Will do then. :)