Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Scott Thunes Interivew I don't get it?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by kalo, Aug 13, 2003.

1. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    I don't know how I found this article about Scott Thunes, but I did and frankly, after reading it I felt that he should lighten up a little. Maybe, I am young and don't understand where he is coming from, but I just don't understand his attitude about not wanting to be called a bass player and how he has given up bass.

He states that bass players are the morons in a band especially if one is playing rock...I am sorry, but this article kind of pissed me off.

:meh:

IF anyone is interested in reading this interview his is the website address and I would LOVE your comments because maybe I am not understanding where he is coming from.

Also, I am a guitarist turned bass player and I am TOTALLY happy being the moron in any band...

http://www.cidanka.nl/keneally/stbp0397.htm

2. Bazzist

Bazzist

Dec 7, 2002
    Nova Scotia
    Im sorry i dont know who this guy is but i read the atricle and i think hes ridiculous. His "visonary" approach to bass is that bassist are just tools used to play wut the band wants.

3. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    Bazzist, I am glad I am not the only one that thinks he is riduclus.

Scott Thunes used to play in Frank Zappa's band and now works as a doorman at a club and is going on to getting a degree in computers. I totally dislike his vibe and maybe he is right to quite playing bass.

4. Jonesy4fnk

Jonesy4fnk Supporting Member

I suggest you listen to his playing rather than his remarks.

Zappa's - "Does Humor Belong in Music" is a great start.

5. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    Jonsey,