Searching for a 1x18 cab.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sonorous, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Sonorous

Oct 1, 2003
    Denton, TX
    How many are there? I know that Bag End, Hartke, and Carvin all make one. Any others? Which one has the best lows? I'm looking for something that sounds huge and thick but is still focused and not boomy or overbearing.
  2. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    SWR Big Ben. Huge, nondirectional lows, not boomy, muddy, or tubby for the most part. Fills the room with rumble.
  3. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine
    Peavey, Accugroove, and Bergantino all make/made 1x18's, too. I'm sure that Don Oats up at Low Down Sound could build one for you, too.

4. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    The Ampeg site still shows one there...

I have little experience with 18s, but have found the Big Bens to sound pretty good...
  5. metron

metron Fluffy does not agree

Sep 12, 2003
    Lakewood Colorado
    bergantino made a 118? i did not know that! :bassist:
  6. Aj*

Jun 14, 2005
    West Yorkshire, UK
  7. Akami

Akami Four on the floor

8. alanhasradar

alanhasradar Supporting Member

Oct 2, 2005
    Alexandria, VA
    I've been using a BagEnd S18-D for a couple years now and *love* it...Focused sound that fills in under the 2x12 very well. Rocks the low F# nicely, too! And still fits perfectly in the backseat along with the 2x12 :bassist:
  9. Trace Elliot used to do one - the might get one used on ebay or the likes. Never tried it myself, although I GAS'd after one for ages....eventually I just went with their 15" cab (the 1518)
  10. Sonorous

Oct 1, 2003
    Denton, TX
    Thanks for the help guys. I think I'm going to chase after an SWR Big Ben.
  11. Thor

Thor Moderator Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Funkengrooven had one for sale the other day,