Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Searching for a Better Stool

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by PaulCannon, Sep 20, 2005.

1. I've been using a stool in some form for over three years, and it has improved my playing tremendously. However, I've had bad luck with the stools I've owned and used. When I first started using a stool, I bought a $20 stool from a general store and attached a $30 cushion. Four or five months later, the stool's rungs decided to fall out during a performance. I'd be more embarassed, but nobody was in the audience to care.

Since then, I've been using the "Ergonomic Folding Chair." It was nice at first, because I was still unsure about my own preference towards chair height, so it was nice to experiment. However, two years later, what little padding it had to begin with has been squished out of existence, one of the feet has lost its plastic glide, and some of the rubber grips which held the seat in place have crumbled to dust. It's very uncomfortable to sit in after 30 minutes or so, and it isn't as portable as it looks.

So after a few years of this crap, I'm once again in the market for a good stool. I think what I want is to have two different stools. One for travelling with, which would need to be lightweight and easy to carry while still being somewhat comfortable. The other for use at home, where I could sit and practice in it for hours and hours at a time and not have to worry about discomfort.

The best that I've come up with are the insanely expensive Basso stools. I got to use one briefly when I played with the Seattle Symphony last March, and it is by far the most comfortable and versatile stool I think could exist. It's also $960. They also a have a cheaper model, but they aren't adjustable and don't look quite as sturdy.