seeking advice (on amp shopping)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Jan 14, 2004.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Okay, I'm going to finally be in the market for a bass rig very soon. I have some ideas about what I want, but I don’t know too much about buying amps (I bought the one I own before I started playing and it's the only one I've ever bought) I currently have an 80 watt 15" Peavy combo. Once I get a little more power I hope to be more active in playing with others. I don't currently have any gigs, but I want to get an amp that will keep up with a drummer and a guitar or two and be adequate to play gigs in small clubs. I suspect that the Peavy bam 210 might be a good fit for me, but the price (new) is a little more than I'd hoped to pay. I saw a GK (backline series) 210 combo that had 175 watts - I though that might be adequate - it was a lot cheaper than the Peavy (lower watt too…) I don't mind buying used, but I prefer not to buy online so I may be stuck choosing from what I can find used locally or buying new. I think that I'd be happy with either a 210 combo or a head and 210 cab - in either case I'd like the flexibility of having the option to later add a 15" or 18" extension cab. I don't use many effects and don't plan on starting soon. I have a chorus and an OD pedal right now which is more than I need for effects, so I really won't be swayed by an amp that offers a lot of effects built in. I would like something with compression built in. Other features that would be nice to have built into my rig would be a tuner and a mute switch. Price is very much a consideration, but so is quality and sound. If it is more cost effective to get an amp set up that doesn't have everything I want and then add separate components (such as compression or tuner) then I'll go that route. I play mostly rock covers, but a lot of other stuff too. I hope to find something that will work for me in the $400 to $1100 range