Seeking new class D head, $700 or less, 500+ watts (more preferred)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GlassToMouth, Sep 9, 2021.

1. GlassToMouth

GlassToMouth Supporting Member

Jul 1, 2014
    Rhode Island
    Ideally under $600. I've narrowed it down to a few, open to suggestions. I've been running a Bugera Veyron M non-tube version for about 5 years without issues. I really do love it. I've been gigging without a backup for too long and want to get a new amp. I bought a Peavey MiniMega and loved the tone, power, and features. But it died on a couple gigs and I sent it back under warranty. They're out of stock for replacements and backorders aren't due to arrive until late October, so I'm getting a refund instead.

I gig most every weekend so my amps accrue mileage fairly quickly. I will be purchasing new since I want the option of having a solid warranty.

I favor clean, loud, transparent amps over colored ones. I have a couple outboard pres I enjoy. But a preamp tube is tempting. I use a pair of Avatar B210 Neos at 8 ohms each. So a 4 ohm minimum load is fine. I never use onboard compression. I play both old and new school funk, soul, jazz fusion, R&B, modern pop, etc. I have no need for distortion.

On my radar in no particular order...

Bugera Veyron Tube Version
    Hartke LX8500
    Harley Benton Bass Block 800B
    Peavey MiniMax
    Peavey MiniMega
    TC Electronic BH800

I'm leaning towards the Bugera Veyron Tube version and keeping some money in my pocket, or the Hartke due to the power rating. I was really happy with the MiniMega as well as any other Peavey product I've ever owned. Parametric mids would be nice, but I already have that on all my basses (active EMG equipped) and my outboard pres. Darkglass Harmonic Booster and NUX MLD NBP-5.

2. Hey buddy,

Bite the bullet and get to $799...sounds really good with or without a bunch of distortion...
    Darkglass Microtubes 500 v2 - 500-watt Bass Head

MHensleyJr likes this.
  3. basss