Self taught bassists???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Philip71, Aug 25, 2004.

1. Philip71

Jul 23, 2004
    This is only for the bassists who taught themselves how to play.....How did you teach yourself to play???...I am just wondering because I have bought several books and seem to be learning more from them than I am in my weekly half hour lesson that costs if anyone can give me any tips on how to teach myself please I would greatly appreciate it.

2. i've learned guitar,bass,and several other instruments w/o lessons...God blessed me with a good ear for music so I can pick up stuff easily....The only downside is that I can't tell you the difference between scales,modes,etc....but I can play em...I really wanna study theory to help me further my abilities...and I'm wanting to go to Regi Wooten for technique lessons for tapping and slap

I would always just throw on a cd and play along with it, also I would go to websites like to look through their online lessons (really helpful!)

I hope to take lessons from Regi, but aside from technique help I think I'm fine with online tutorials and stuff of that sort for theory

have fun and just practice as much as you can...
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

When I started out on electric bass, there really weren't any instructional materials dedicated to electric bass at all. I was taking guitar lessons at the time but The Ventures had vinyl LP's of their songs where pages inside the album covers included tabs of their songs for each instrument. They were called "Play Guitar with the Ventures."

That was one way. The other was to just play along with LP's as best you could. The upside was that the lack of materials forced you to be very creative. The downside was that your basslines were horrid if you didn't have an ear for the instrument.