1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Self-Taught Players

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Ezmar, Mar 21, 2013.

1. Ezmar

Ezmar

Jul 8, 2010
    This is something I've thought about recently. Simply put, what do you think about people who have taught themselves, not necessarily bass, but anything. I feel like there's the idea that a self taught player can never ever be as good as someone with an instructor.

What do y'all think?

2. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh

Dec 21, 2012
    There is no such thing as 'self taught'. You learn from everything. Or you should. Often, it might be what not to do. But it's still learning. The mistake is limiting where you learn. You'll miss out on a lot.

3. Do the names John Lennon and Paul McCartney mean anything to you?

4. Ezmar

Ezmar

Jul 8, 2010
    I'm talking more about people who took lessons from an instructor versus people who didn't. I'm not implying that "self-taught" players somehow learn the instrument completely from within themselves.

While your comment is valid, it's not really what I was talking about.

5. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
    It depends on how good of a teacher they are.

6. Some can do it just fine, some can't. Probably has a lot to do with your learning style.

7. Basshappi

Basshappi

Feb 12, 2007
    Tucson,AZ
    Many world class blues, rock and R&B musicians are self taught.

8. jive1

jive1 Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
    I find that musicians who have had formal instruction tend to take criticism and direction more positively than someone who is self taught.

9. punkjazzben

punkjazzben

Jun 26, 2008
    Australia
    +1

10. Duckwater

Duckwater

May 10, 2010
    USA, Washington
    Do Youtube lessons count as a formal education?

11. Ezmar