1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Self-Taught Success Story

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by tpmiller08, Mar 31, 2009.

1. tpmiller08

tpmiller08

Mar 15, 2009
    Boston, MA
    Don't lynch me for this post guys. Its just what worked for me, and I'm not putting down lessons in any form.

I've read up on some music theory. Every time I get stumped, I look up something new ya know? I don't know much past interval and scale constructions (Root, Major/Minor 2nd, 3rd, all that good stuff), but I play with feeling. I consider myself a tortured artist, with the life I've lived growing up in a tough Boston neighborhood. Thats another story though :bag: But it gives me a need to express myself, and comes naturally.

The bass is the only instrument I stuck with. I played drums for 6 months, guitar for like a week, just couldn't stick with it. I picked up a bass about 5 1/2 years ago, and never put it down.

I never took a single lesson. I just couldn't afford it. But then even when I could I never did. I even got 10 free lessons and never showed. Its just not for me. I'd rather learn my complete own style, and do what feels comfortable. It wasn't hard for me to notice when I was sloppy, or getting fret buzz, or unmuted strings, and to work on each problem as I noticed it.

My friend who plays bass got a bad case of carpal tunnel at age 30!! Due to the fact his teacher was an intermediate player, who sold himself as something more. So if your going to go with a teacher, make sure you do your homework.

Well, to the success story part =)