Self taught???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ldiezman, Jul 11, 2001.

1. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Well... I guess i would say that I am self taught... I never had formal training... I am a music major and I know alot about theory and what not. I never did have a teacher.. I just practiced all the time when i first started and learned songs that i thought I liked.... Then I joined a band and practiced twice as hard to keep up with those guys... then I became too good for that band and moved on. I like to go see other bassist perform. I see what they do and try and learn something from them.... I think teaching myself was a good thing, I believe I have my own unique abilities at playing bass and I always thought If some one was telling me what to do then that would hinder me....

but now I get together with the few excellent bass players here at college and jam with them. I think talking and playing with other bassists helps a lot...
    Any body agree/disagree
  2. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    I agree to the fullest.
    Im completely self taught to this day.
    I even learned to slap by hearing "Higher Ground" played by Flea.
    I begun hitting the strings with my hands with bad results until I finally figured out how to do it..
    Sometime later I watched a guy doing it and corrected my technique.

What you say about when you started playing in a band is the same that happened to me.
    I became better faster than them, and moved on to progressive music.
    (I started playing Grunge and some Iron Maiden)
  3. I am self taught too. Although i come from a very heavily musical background, which is cool because they encourage and give that little nudge everynow and again.