Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sell my Stingray5 and buy a Lakland Darryl Jones?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by him666, Jan 2, 2006.

1. Currently I have two basses. A Stingray5 and a Ric 4001. Im really happy with both, but I think the Stingray could be replaced with something I even more like. A passive jazz 5 string bass.
    I play in an alternative metal band.
    I really like the looks of the DJ. How is the B string compared to the Stingray5? Are there any other 5 string passive basses within this budget I should check out?

[​IMG]

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    If you're sure that you want to let the SR5 go, then the DJ5 is a great bass from what I have heard. I have some experience with Skylines (55-01 & 55-02) and they have great B strings and overall build quality, but maybe just a step below that of a Stingray, especially in terms of body contouring.

The DJ5 is on my personal GAS list. According two several Tbers, the DJ and DJ5 are the best J-style basses short of the high end boutiques.

3. Hollow Man

Hollow Man Supporting Member

Apr 28, 2003
    Springfield, VA
    I've never played a DJ5, but Lakland is known for having strong, clear low B's, so at the minimum, you'd probably be getting a pretty decent sound off of your B. I don't know that there are many alternative metal players throwing away their SR's for a passive 5'er, but that shouldn't be any reason to stop you from trying.

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Is that a USA lakland or skyline?

5. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Thought so. Id keep the Sr5 unless you were truely unhappy with it.