1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Semi-Gloss finish

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by kaoskater08, Mar 15, 2013.

1. kaoskater08

kaoskater08

Apr 1, 2011
    I'm new to building and doing a lot of research as I go along with my first instrument (this forum has been a GREAT source of information), but I'm looking at putting a semi-gloss lacquer finish on.

Do I let the finish settle after spraying like you would with a satin finish, or do you buff it like a high gloss finish? Or is there a different procedure/material to buff a lacquer like this?

2. praisegig

praisegig Supporting Member

Jul 7, 2008
    Stephenville, TX
    If i were you, I would spray the gloss clear coats, and let it cure for thirty days. Wet sand level going from 600 to 1200 grit. If the sheen is not to your liking, then rub it down with 0000 steel wool, using paste furniture wax as a lubricant. Once the sheen is accomplished, then use a wipe of naptha to remove the wax residue.

3. poly or nitro??? I have seen nitro , poly and pil finishes that are low and mid gloss, so no matter how much you buff polish on it, it wont shine much and still be smooth to touch

4. gbarcus

gbarcus Commercial User

Jul 20, 2008
    Minneapolis & St.Paul, MN
    Owner of Barcus Basses barcusbasses.com
    I only use Nitro for a high gloss, all other sheen combinations get Poly. If you choose to go with poly, you'll have to decide oil or water based. Water based, will keep the wood color a lot lighter than oil based poly. Oil based poly will also add a touch of amber to your wood color. If you find the right water based poly (jury is still out for me), you can find a happy medium.
    Hands down, I'd rather spray water based poly. No nasty fumes and everything cleans up so easy.

5. Jazzdogg