Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

(semi)Hollowbody Vs Solid Body

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lewk, Jan 7, 2004.

1. Lewk

Lewk

Oct 19, 2003
    I've recently played my first semi-hollow bass (G&L ASAT) and it sounded absolutely incredible.

Being quite new to the whole "makeup of guitars" i was just wondering what a hollowbody actually does to affect the sound. If this needs to be moved to luthier then thats cool with me!

Cheers guys

2. I guess one way to describe a hollow or semi-hollow body would be to say that the body sustains less, and resonates more than a solid-body.

I'm not an expert, but I think it has to do with the note bouncing around inside the bass' body when plucked. I think it creates more, or more complex overtones. Most people consider this sound as being "warmer" than a regular solid-body bass. I have a semi hollow-body bass, an Epiphone Jack Casady, and it does have an extremely warm, almost upright-like tone.

The dowm side to hollow-body instruments would be feed back from high volume levels.

I'm sure someone will explain it better than me. ;)

Mike :)

3. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    I am having the same delema. I checked the dudepit(G&L's bass forum) And they said the semi hollow is a little deeper in tone. But there is a little neck dive issue that's why a lot of players opt for the L2K. Does the F hole make a diff in tone? But I will get a G&L it's just a matter of chosing the L2K vs the ASAT and which ASAT to get, solid, semi-hollow, or F hole. I am leaning toward the ASAT.

4. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    Was there any neck dive? Do you know which neck it had there are several to choose from? Did you play it in active or passive mode? I know a lot of questions.....

5. Lewk

Lewk

Oct 19, 2003